The Girl From Moscow

Pre-order now:
Released February 27, 2024

AmazonApple BooksBooktopia

The Girl From Moscow

1983, Moscow
Twenty-one-year-old Ella dreams of stardom and playing Natasha Rostova in War and Peace at the Moscow Theatre Academy. One day when meeting her friend Vlad in the city, she finds herself in the middle of a protest and attracts the glare of the KGB.

Labelled a traitor, she must withdraw from the academy and she soon yearns to escape the cruel and oppressive Soviet regime. However, her hopes of leaving the country are smashed when her husband Roman is sentenced to two years’ labour camp for selling American jeans with the intent to make a profit.

As she looks for another way out, Ella is drawn into a dangerous game of cat and mouse with a KGB general, who has the power to secure her freedom. Will she risk everything and leave behind those she loves to pursue a life in the West?

A gripping, passionate and heart-stopping tale packed with twists and turns for fans of The Spy’s Wife, The Girl from Munich and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

âA stunning debut novel. Julia has beautifully crafted characters and given us a tale of intrigue set against the backdrop of 1980s Russia. She has created a thrilling atmosphere of the insidious threat communist Russia posed, not to its enemies, but its own citizens. I lost sleep devouring this page-turner.â Heather Morris, author of Tattooist of Auschwitz and Cilkaâs Journey

âA unique new voice in historical fictionâ Belinda Alexandra

âEmbark on an exhilarating Cold War journey with Julia Levitina’s brilliant debut, THE GIRL FROM MOSCOW. I was hooked by Ella’s story from the very first page. This is a must-read for fans of fast-paced, engrossing historical fiction.â Kelly Rimmer

Stay up-to-date on the latest Australian fiction releases and news