Tea Cooper

Tea Cooper

Australian and International Bestselling, Award Winning Author

Historical fiction – from the ocean to the outback


Website: http://www.teacooperauthor.com

Tea's latest Australian fiction release

What connects a botanical illustration of a butterfly with a missing baby and an enigma fifty years in the making?

1868 Morpeth

Theodora Breckenridge, still in mourning after the loss of her parents and brother at sea, is more interested in working quietly on her art at the family’s country estate than she is finding a husband in Sydney society, even if her elder sister Florence has other ideas. Theodora seeks to emulate prestigious nature illustrators, the Scott sisters, who lived nearby, so she cannot believe her luck when she discovers a butterfly never before sighted in Australia. With the help of Clarrie, her maid, and her beautiful illustrations, she is poised to make a natural science discovery that will put her name on the map. Then Clarrie’s new-born son goes missing and everything changes.

1922 Sydney

When would-be correspondent Verity Binks is sent an anonymous parcel containing a spectacular butterfly costume and an invitation to the Sydney Artists Masquerade Ball on the same day she loses her job at The Arrow, she is both baffled and determined to go. Her late grandfather Sid, an esteemed newspaperman, would expect no less of her. At the ball, she lands a juicy commission to write the history of the Treadwell Foundation – an institution that supports disgraced young women and their babies. But as she begins to dig, her investigation quickly leads her to an increasingly dark and complex mystery, a mystery fifty years in the making. Can she solve it? And will anyone believe her if she does?

‘A twisty historical mystery from a bestselling Australian author.’

Buy The Butterfly Collector

booktopia amazon ibooks

More books by Tea Cooper

About Tea Cooper

Tea is an established Australian author of contemporary and historical fiction. In a past life she was a teacher, a journalist and a farmer. These days she haunts museums and indulges her passion for storytelling.

She is an award winning and bestselling author of several novels, including The Horse Thief, The Cedar Cutter and The Currency Lass, The Naturalist’s Daughter and The Woman in the Green Dress.